The Kadiweus - Brazil

Description

At the end of the 16th century, the Kadiweu Indians used to dominate the valley of the Bodoquena, in the centre west of Brazil. Having captured many of the wild horses abandoned by the Spanish, they became excellent horsemen.

Today, Thomas and his nephew Nelson, two authentic Kadiweus, perpetuate their ancestors’ culture. Thomas works as a "campeiro", the Brazilian equivalent to a cowboy. Campeiros are seasonal workers, hired for given periods of time.

Nelson is 14 years old and wishes to become a campeiro. But years of apprenticeship are needed to deserve such a title. Hence, for his first professional experience, he is only a "tropeiro", meaning the person in charge of horses. This function is the first step every young aspirant to the profession of campeiro has to go through.

Events

Screenings

Les Kadiweus - Brésil

Description

À la fin du 16ème siècle, les indiens Kadiwéu dominaient la vallée de la Bodoquena, au centre ouest du Brésil. Ayant récupéré beaucoup de chevaux sauvages laissés par les espagnols, ils étaient devenus d’excellents cavaliers. «
Aujourd’hui, Thomas et son neveu Nelson, deux authentiques Kadiwéus, pérennisent la culture de leurs ancêtres. Thomas travaille dans une fazenda en qualité de « campeiro », l'équivalent brésilien des cow-boys. Les campeiros sont des travailleurs journaliers, engagés pour des périodes déterminées.

Nelson a 14 ans et rêve de devenir un « campeiro ». Mais des années d’apprentissage sont nécessaires pour mériter un tel titre. Ainsi, pour son premier travail, il n’est qu’un simple « tropeiro », c’est-à-dire le responsable des chevaux. Cette fonction est le point de passage obligé pour n’importe quel jeune aspirant au métier de « campeiro ».

Événements

Session de visionnage